I Like It

The noise is deafening. The hordes of psychologists, analysts, and armchair counselors drone on constantly on the subject of doing what you like to do. There is even a popular book about finding a vocation that you love in a surprisingly short time frame. I haven’t read the book, so I will reserve judgment on it; but it seems to be an oversimplification that you should love your job or quit it.

Are our preferences and “likes” a valid reason for our choices? Maybe, if we were choosing between broccoli and Brussels sprouts, with almost identical nutrients. As I have limited garden space, I make choices based on what I like. I like tomatoes. I don’t like turnips. These choices, however, are rather insignificant in the bigger picture.

Roma Green

There has been quite some activity in a recent discussion on whether to participate in perpetuating the Santa Claus folklore, particularly when it comes to “pretending” or “lying” to children, Much of the discussion seems to hinge on whether we “liked” or “loved” it as children. Some parents simply like it themselves, and think it’s pretty cute to fool their children in imaginative new ways.

My purpose is not to persuade or dissuade you about the whole Santa tradition, or even whether to celebrate Christmas at all; which is a whole different topic. I have been privileged to have been part of a very lively and civil discussion about the topic, with people who disagree while being very cordial and making some very good points.

What is troubling in reading the discussions is that so many people boil it down to the phrase, “I like it.” This is a big part of why I celebrate the season as well, to be truthful. But if it were the only reason, I would have cause to be ashamed at my shallowness.

Here’s the danger: “The heart is deceptive above all things…..”(Jeremiah 17:9) Our emotions and feelings, while definitely valid, cannot be trusted to make important decisions. This is why we have instrumental music creeping into the church, in spite of all the evidence against it in the scriptures and in church history. Indeed, it is why Christianity is so splintered and divided. “Every man did what was right in his own eyes” (Judges 27:6b, NASB) This is a quote about the young nation of Israel, before there was a king. It is always followed by an account of how they went astray from God’s way. The phrase could almost be called the motto of Israel during the time of the judges.

Is this what we want for our spiritual life? Well, yes, we do want to do “what is right in our own eyes.” We want it very badly, and the culture we live in encourages it strongly. Advertising practically screams “Do what you want!”

What we don’t want are the consequences, which is separation from God; but very few of us will bother to look that far into the future. Actions do have consequences. Our choices will determine our spiritual outcome, too.

Are we willing to do the tough work of finding out what choices are in keeping with God’s will, or are we content just to make haphazard decisions in life based on our first impressions? Will we “go with our gut,” or really think about our actions and their results?

I like a lot of things. But I LOVE God, and I believe you do, too, since you’ve read this far. My choices, I hope, will reflect my love, not my “likes.”

Leave a comment